TRXCL - Liss (Rogate Common) and Farnham Runners Awards Dinner

Farnham Runners Press Release - 31/01/10

TRXCL - Rogate Common

Farnham Runners stay top of the Today's Runner Winter League cross-country series, just one point ahead of Basingstoke and Midhants A.C. with two events to go.

An impressive performance by the men put them ahead by a massive total of 41 in the race organised by Liss Runners at Rogate common. A stunning performance by former international steeplechaser, Claire Entwistle gave her a substantial victory in the ladies’section, helping the ladies claim 4th spot for a combined club result of 2nd.

Andrew Ellison led them over the 5mile hilly course in an excellent 4th place, with a tussle between Mike Anderson (8th) and Ian Carley (9th) for the next club slot. Charles Ashby ran well for 19th while Steve Kitney was pleased to contribute to the 5-strong scoring team in 24th.

Racing in Farnham colours for the first time Claire’s strong run was underlined by her overall position of 8th. Next came Jane Georghiou, 12th lady, with Emma Whittaker-Axon, who was delighted to make the team for the first time, 25th. Frances Britain (29th) and Lindsay Bamford (31st) ran strongly in support.

A large turnout of members all helped the team:

Men: Andy Eakins 32nd, Dan Smith 41st, Tim Cummins 44th, Stuart Morgan 46th, Paul Beesley 64th, Nick Hitchcock 69th, Dave Armstrong 70th, Martin Billett 77th, Mike Walberton 78th, Terry Copeland 81st, Tim Clover 82nd, Terry Steadman 84th, Rob Murdoch 103rd, Andrew Perrin 137th, Peter Strange 150th.

Ladies: Anna Hindle 43rd (debut), Kay Copeland 50th, Sylvia Harper 53rd, Emma Drinkwater 57th, Wendy Carley 59th, Caroline Freeman 62nd, Kim Mepsted 70th, Elaine Ashby 76th.

Farnham Runners Awards Dinner

The annual Farnham Runners Awards Dinner was very successful and enjoyed by a large proportion of members accompanied by friends and relatives. Chairman Dan Smith emphasised the club’s success in both competitive and social aspects during the past year. He thanked social secretaries Peter Strange and Jenny Andrews for organising the event as well as member Nick King who made huge contribution in adding to the grandeur of the evening.

The following awards were presented: